Avignon Suite was composed for solo piano by Ina Dykstra. It is in three movements. Here are the composer's notes from the published music, available at vistaheightsmusic.com. "My husband Jan and I had the amazing opportunity to be in the south of France during the summer of 2018. We took a riverboat cruise through many towns and villages, one of which was “Avignon”. When I returned, I was inspired to write this suite of pieces, and truly hope that you will enjoy playing these as much as I enjoyed writing them!

  • Category: Advanced
  • SKU: 9790706102115




The River at Night 

Shimmering water, shimmering lights

A giant and peaceful sky

Gentle breezes, good company

A longing to hold the moment

For just a little longer.

A Medieval City 

Bells.  Chanting.

Walking ancient steps

That thousands before you have walked.

Getting a sense of how the world worked then

And always musicians in the square

Bringing joy and dancing

The world seems smaller and yet bigger here

A thousand years ago.

Lavender Fields 

Oh to be in France

When all the fields are lavender

Fragrant, full of promise

Looking down from an old castle

You feel the wonder and beauty of this land

And at the bridge in Avignon, they are all still dancing!

Ina Dykstra 

Oct. 8, 2019"